Murieston Trail Race 2018

The 2018 edition of the MTR will take place on Saturday 8th September, and with just over 2 weeks to go, this is an urgent request for volunteers. 

As with previous CAAC events, it is hoped that as many of our members as possible will actually run the race, but the positions noted below are the minimum required for the race to proceed safely, so I would urge you to add your name to the list.

Race Referee: John O’Hara
1: Megan Smith
2: ​Janet Grigor
Results: Tim Norwood
Timekeeper: Bryan Clark
Place Judge: John O’Hara
1:   Janet Grigor
2:   Jilly McKay
3:   Nick Brown (and 3a)

4:   Keith Hood
5:   Fiona Carver
6:   Iain Macleod
7:   Richard Lewis

8:   Dean Carr 
9:   Graeme Reid
10: Susan Johnston
Sweeper: Gillian Carr

Look forward to hearing from you.

Richard Lewis's picture

Hi John, I'm happy to

Hi John, I'm happy to marshall. Just let me know where you want me.  

Graeme Reid's picture

Happy to marshall en route to

Happy to marshall en route to Loch Lomond. Last couple of years I've done the one at the bottom when the athletes come up the wee hill and turn left into the trees. Is it checkpoint 8? Happy to do that one again.

johnohara's picture

Thanks to everyone who has

Thanks to everyone who has volunteered to date. Only 2 spaces to fill. Don't be shy!

johnohara's picture

That's it folks. All spaces

That's it folks. All spaces filled. Many thanks for volunteering.

I'll send out an email to everyone with a map, just to remind you where you're going, and we'll have a Marshals briefing at 10.30am on the day, half an hour before race start, giving you plenty of time to get in position.

See you on the 8th smiley 

johnohara's picture



Another fantastic day, marred slightly by a couple of incidents involving local residents, dogs and some bad language, which isn't acceptable under any circumstances, and whilst this needs to be further investigated, I'm sure you'll join me in offering our sincere apologies to all involved for any distress caused.

In the meantime, well done to everyone for taking part, and thank you all for supporting this local race. Hope you enjoyed it.

Thank you also to Livingston Cricket Club for the use of their facilities, and a special thank you to Jen behind the bar. Thanks also to all the Marshals and everyone else who helped.

Full results and a list of the prize winners below, including a new course record in the Senior Womens race by Morag Miller of Central AC in a time of 21:57. Previous best of 22:03 was set Sarah Inglis of Lothian Running Club back in 2012.

Provisional date for your diary for next years event is Saturday 7th September 2019.

MTR 2018 Prizewinners_a.pdf

MTR 2018 Results_a.pdf