Annual membership 2018/19 now due


#CAAC5 2017 Race Report & Results

CAAC52017 Andrew Douglas Calum McKenzie

Thanks for supporting the 2017 , full results subject to scrutiny are now available at

This years event was a record year in many ways, 218 pre entries, 233 finishes and a mens course record of 24:41 by Andrew Douglas (Inverclyde AC) in winning the race - in fact two if we count the second place man Calum McKenzie (Corstorphine AC) who also ducked under the 2014 mark! Third place in the race went to the previous holder of the record Murray Strain (Hunters Bog Trotters). 

Jonna Murphy (Carnegie Harriers) 29:52 just dipped under 30 minutes in winning the womens race. That was enough to beat the 2012 winner Fiona Matheson (Falkirk Victoria Harriers) into 2nd, completing the ladies podium was Emma Baker (Unattached).

We operate a higher prize categorisation therefore 2013 race winner Jenny McLean who finished 3rd female overall was awarded the Masters 40 prize. In the womens Masters 50 it was Claire Gilchrist (Ferranti AAC) and Isobel Burnett (Carnegie Harriers) scooped the Masters 60 prize.

In the mens categories; Calum Hill (Falkirk Victoria Harriers) finished in 31:25 to win the Junior Mens race, Malcolm Lang (Lothian Running Club) the Masters 40, Ross Mceachern (Kirkintilloch Olympians) the Master 50 and Alastair Walker (Teviotdale Harriers) with a great run finishing in 29:41 the Masters 60.

The mens team race was won by Corstorphine AC (Calumn McKenzie,Douglas Selman, Jonathan Carpenter) and the womens team race by Carnegie Harriers (Joanna Murphy, Kristin Lownie, Isobel Burnett).

There was some really good running in the Junior Fun Run and Ben, Ronan, Adam and Aron had a fine race with Ben coming away strongly to win in 8:09! Ailsa kept the boys honest finishing 6th overall and winning the girls race. Well done. 

We do have some spot prizes for this years event - free entry to the <a href="">Murieston Trail Race on Saturday 9 September</a>, if your number finished with a 0 or you entered before 10 February this year please look out for an email on how to claim your prize.

Lastly apologies for the delay in handing out numbers last night - we definitely learnt a hard lesson in organising on that front. However we will learn from our mistake and hope to see you back for the 2018 running on Wednesday 6 June 2018. Entries will open later this month for those keen to secure a place.

If you do have any comments or photos to share please send them to

Thank you!