Annual membership 2018/19 now due





All club members, family and friends are invited to attend the Annual General Meeting on Thursday 30th March 2017 in Carrick Knowe Church Hall, Saughton Road North commencing at 7.30pm (PLEASE NOTE THIS IS THE SAME VENUE AS LAST YEAR. PLEASE DO NOT ARRIVE BEFORE 7.15PM AS WE DO NOT HAVE USE OF THE HALL UNTIL THIS TIME).

After a few formalities, there will be a prize giving and presentation of records of achievement (the section most enjoyed by our younger members). The evening is then rounded off with some well deserved refreshments. Club kit will also be sold and orders taken on the night.

Prizegiving ~ the nominations are listed below and this year’s recipient for each category will be revealed at the AGM:

Junior Female Athlete of the Year – currently Jessica MacLeod. Nominations are Mhairi Arnott, Olivia Clark, Georgia Ledingham, Mia Linklater, Jessica MacLeod, Katherine MacLeod and Heidi Ross. Junior Male Athlete of the Year – currently David Addison. Nominations are David Addison, Sam Cavens, Cole Milne, Finlay Ross and Thomas Ross.

Senior Female Athlete of the Year – currently Fiona Carver. Nominations are Hannah Addison, Fiona Carver, Kirstian MacRuary, Tamzin McQueenie and Nicola Ross.

Senior Male Athlete of the Year – currently Donald Macaulay. Nominations are James Harrison, Ryan Kyle and Calum McKenzie.

Ron Anderson Trophy – currently held by Michael Crawley. Nominations are Anthony Addison, Dermot Cummins, Calum McKenzie and Douglas Selman.

Team of the Year – currently held by Junior Male Cross Country Relays. Nominations are Junior Female East District Cross Country Relays, Under 15 Boys East District Cross Country League and Masters Men National Cross Country Championships.

Sprint Performance of the Year – currently Craig Knowles. Nominations are Caitlin Arnott, Sam Cavens, Findlay Donegan, Craig Knowles and Ryan Kyle.

Endurance Performance of the Year – currently Martin Caldwell. Nominations are Anthony Addison, Hannah Addison, Mhairi Arnott, Fiona Carver, Olivia Clark, Dermot Cummins, Calum McKenzie, Jessica MacLeod, Katherine MacLeod, Ross Milne and Douglas Selman.

Field Performance of the Year – currently Jamie McAslan. Nominations are Rachel Dee, Tom Hunt and Jamie McAslan.

Any items for inclusion in the agenda or proposals for consideration should be submitted in writing to the secretary by Thursday 23rd March 2017.

We will also be electing Chairman, Vice Chairman, Treasurer and Secretary. All Office Bearers are standing for re-election however nominations will be accepted for any of these posts and these should also be with the secretary by Thursday 23rd March 2017.

As with previous years we would also ask that you give some thought to anyway in which you can assist the club and also help shape the future of the club. A small number of people put a lot of time into the day to day running of the club and there are numerous jobs that need to be carried out to ensure the club runs smoothly from such things as being involved with sub-committees to even simple smaller jobs like taking a turn at washing the vests from the vest bag after a meeting. We would like to appoint someone to the following posts:

Equipment Co-ordinator – to manage a rota so different people take a turn at transporting club equipment to events and to ensure it is not always the same few people who are responsible for this.

Media Manager – responsible for ensuring the club receives adequate media coverage in relation to such things as competition results as well as assisting with digital and social media updates.

Finally we are also in desperate need of qualified Officials as without them our athletes will not be allowed to compete in the summer Track and Field leagues we take part in. This would mean attending a one day course and then being asked to officiate at a couple of Track and Field Meetings each year. This is not a massive time commitment and would mean so much to our athletes. If any of the above interests you or you are able to help in anyway please speak to one of the Office Bearers or Coaches.

I hope you will be able to join us at the AGM, Prize Giving and Social night.

PLEASE NOTE: as from Tuesday 28th March, training will be at Saughton Sports Complex (7.00pm – 8.30pm). Unlike previous years this year we return to the track before the AGM but there will be no club training on the same night as the AGM.

Chris Peggie, Club Secretary

07528 898174